Voices in the Wind
Our little town is a treasure-trove of history and mystery and well worth the stroll. Every nook and cranny hides its story, yet we have stories galore. And where will our stories take you?
Let’s start with our much-honoured 1915 John Doe in the Penguin General Cemetery with its stunning views over Bass Strait. Our Silver mine was the first Tasmanian mine to attract significant mainland investment starting much of Tasmania’s mining boom. As to our railway station – there one minute, gone the next, then back again.
Our roadside gardens are considered to be the oldest and most substantial example of a Tasmanian ornamental community garden. Our Library with its clock tower is one of only two memorial libraries in Tasmania.
The Uniting Church’s distinctive key-hole stained glass windows are unique. And check out St Stephen’s eastern three lancet windows.
And what about Penguin’s first Motor Garage where renowned inventor Goachem Swain Richardson designed and built Australia’s first cycle pedal flying machine, in 1908, the first successful flight in Australia.
These are just the entree; welcome to our heritage trail. And enjoy unravelling our history.